7/25/11
11:37 am

Forum Question: Auto resume disabling !

Can we disable Auto resume in safari. Sometimes I wouldn’t like safari to display my last visited website in the scenario where there could be another user who is using my iMac.
—–
Cyrus Dubash

Comments: 4 Responses to “Auto resume disabling !”

    7/25/11 @ 3:34 pm

    Well, one way to do it is to have different users for each person. This is the best practice. After all, someone logged in as the same user could get access to your history, cookies, keychain, etc.
    Even if you have you as a primary user, and others must use the Mac as a “guest.”
    That’s overkill for some people (spouses, siblings, etc), but if you are concerned about other people seeing your last visited site, then you should definitely not be allowing them to log on to your Mac as “you.”
    A not-as-good solution is to simply close the last Safari window, so no windows are open, and open a new one. Then that is the “last window open” and anyone running Safari will only be able to see that one and its last page visited.

    Cyrus Dubash
    7/25/11 @ 8:15 pm

    Thanks Gary. Google did show up a setting in system preferences to disable auto resume but that is the feature itself. I only wanted to disable it for safari.

    Thanks !

    Javi
    7/26/11 @ 1:19 pm

    Instead Command + Q, Hold Option + Command + Q

Comments Closed.