10/3/12
3:50 pm

Forum Question: How Do I Make Mountain Lion NOT Open the Last File When I Open a New One?

I noticed in Mountain Lion when you use applications like Quicktime or Preview, anytime you open a new document it automatiCally opens the last document you were using.
This is kind of annoying and i can’t seem to find a way to turn that option off.
—–
Bruno Carelli

Comments: 7 Responses to “How Do I Make Mountain Lion NOT Open the Last File When I Open a New One?”

    10/3/12 @ 5:04 pm

    Right. It is called the “Resume” feature.
    http://macmost.com/understanding-the-resume-feature.html
    It allows you to quit an app and then run it again and it will act as if you were running it all along. The idea is that you don’t need to save and close out documents to quit anymore. Just quit, even if you are in the middle of something. Then run again and resume.
    So the proper way to close a document and quit an app now is to do them in two steps: close the document, then quite. Command+W and then Command+Q usually does the trick.
    You can also Command+Option+Q which will close all documents and quit with one command.
    Or, turn off the feature completely in System Preferences, General.
    But I urge you to try to use this new feature instead of simply turning it off. It gives you MORE functionality than you had before and can come in quite handy. It is just a matter of changing habits.

    John M. Hammer
    10/3/12 @ 5:32 pm

    You can also hold the shift key as you launch a program to override the window-resume setting: If Resume is set to on, doing so will prevent the windows from reappearing at launch. If Resume set to off, doing so will cause any open windows from the last session to reappear at launch.

    Joseph Allen
    10/4/12 @ 4:14 am

    Going from Snow Leopard to Mountain Lion has been full of perplexing surprises, especially with MAIL. I just want software that works and is easy to use; Apple is getting close to … OVER-ENGINEERING … their software … ))<: }

    Tim Mckeen
    2/2/13 @ 12:02 pm

    Similar problem, when I logon all of the software I used before previous shut down opens automatically, which I don’t like. The only way I have found to prevent this is to clear menu, recent items. Which is not always remembered. Is there another, permanent way?

    MArk Stephenson
    2/23/13 @ 12:01 pm

    I can’t locate resume in the current version of Mountain Lion’s General Preferences. Have they moved it to a different location or renamed it?

      2/23/13 @ 12:27 pm

      In System Preferences, under General, the setting is “Close windows when quitting application.”

Comments Closed.