10/27/09
11:31 am

Forum Question: Originals folder and iPhoto

Is it safe to delete files in the “originals” folder under username/pictures, specifically “filename_2” or “filename_3? In some cases I have 4 and even 6 copies. Should I go through and remove only the 2nd,3rd,4th, etc., copies of the originals and leave the first original there? Or should I just delete them all? All of my photos are stored on a NAS.

Another question. I have all my photos stored on a NAS that crashed and I got another one and got the Data recovered. If I import from that NAS, can I then use these original files to go through and copy to the NAS to essentially use them as a “backup” of what pictures I used to have before my first NAS crashed to fill in any photos that didn’t get recovered? Are they the same quality?

— Ian Cooke

Comments: One Response to “Originals folder and iPhoto”

    10/27/09 @ 11:32 am

    You can delete those originals if you want, but then you won’t be able to revert back to the original, of course. I leave them.
    I couldn’t follow your second question, sorry.

Comments Closed.