MacMost Q&A Forum • View All Forum QuestionsAsk a Question

Does Closing One Safari Tab Provide Security When Multiple Tabs Are Open?

When visiting a website where some of my own sensitive security information is at risk, I often see the following suggestion when I leave the website:
“We recommend that you close your browser window. Your browser may have retained a memory of the account information viewed during your session.”
I always following that suggestion and close the Safari tab where I viewed the sensitive information, but wonder if leaving other tabs open (which are open to other non-sensitive webpages) can mitigate the closing of the one tab?
—–
Rod Reed

Comments: One Response to “Does Closing One Safari Tab Provide Security When Multiple Tabs Are Open?”

    1 year ago

    No. Other tabs are “sandboxed” and are the same as other windows as far as security goes.

    As for that message, I’ve seen similar ones, but often they are about closing the window so that someone can’t sit down at the computer after you and use the “back” button to go back into your account. That’s good advice, but most people are using their own private computer, not a public one at a library or something, so it can be confusing.

Comments Closed.