MacMost Q&A Forum • View All Forum QuestionsAsk a Question

How Do I Delete Photos On Camera Roll Without Deleting On iCloud?

I assume on the iPhone that photos on the camera roll and in Photos are duplicates if iCloud storage is on and thus they take up twice the storage. How can you delete camera roll without deleting the same photos in Photos and iCloud? Thanks.
—–
John Kueck

Comments: 6 Responses to “How Do I Delete Photos On Camera Roll Without Deleting On iCloud?”

    4 weeks ago

    No, that is not true. If you are using iCloud Photos and you take a picture on your iPhone, then that is added to your iCloud Photos Library. It is there once. There is no duplicate created.

    In fact, there is no “Camera Roll” album in iOS 12. Where are you still seeing Camera Roll? Photos are just added to your library and you can view them as the most recent photos in your library. In some apps, like Messages, you are shown “Recent Photos” when you attach a photo to a message.

    In general, when you are using albums, the photos in the albums are “links” to the photos in your library. So if you have a photo in your library, and you add it to an album called “Fun Photos” and then add it to another album called “Vacation Photos” then the photo is still just in your library once and only once. But those two albums show you links to that one photo. It is just like creating a playlist in iTunes. Creating the playlist doesn’t duplicate the song file, it just links to it.

    John Kueck
    4 weeks ago

    Thanks, I had missed the change of no camera roll.

    jf
    4 weeks ago

    Just so people aren’t confused, depending on how you migrated from iPhoto to Photos, you might still have a folder in Photos called iPhoto Events that contains MANY ‘albums”, sorted and named mostly by date, some by name, or as “Roll_#_”.

    Lots of fun reorganizing those…

    4 weeks ago

    jf: FYI, those albums are your old iPhoto “Events.” Since Photos doesn’t use Events, but some people may want to retain them, it converts them to albums.

    Cathy
    4 weeks ago

    I have been trying to figure how Icloud and my pictures. I do have duplicate pictures but have no idea why or how? When i try to turn off I cloud it tells me all my pics will be deleted. I’m very confused on how this all works.

    4 weeks ago

    Cathy: What do you see, exactly, that makes you think you have duplicate pictures? Your pictures are stored once in your library, but they can be “linked to” in as many albums as you like. Like iTunes playlists. If you turn off iCloud Photos for that device (Mac, iPhone, iPad) then you have the choice as to whether already downloaded photos will stay on that device or be deleted on that device. But if your goal is to just save storage space, then just turn on the Optimize option. See: https://macmost.com/how-to-optimize-photo-storage-on-your-iphone.html

Leave a New Comment Related to "How Do I Delete Photos On Camera Roll Without Deleting On iCloud?"

:
:
:
0/500 (500 character limit -- please state your comment succinctly and do not try to get around this limit by posting two comments)