MacMost Q&A Forum • View All Forum QuestionsAsk a Question

How Do I Remove the Confirmation Dialog When Deleting From a Network Drive?

How do I remove the confirmation dialog when deleting from a network drive?

I’m primary working off a cloud drive (non-iCloud) and it can be annoying to have a dialog every time.
—–
zero

Comments: 2 Responses to “How Do I Remove the Confirmation Dialog When Deleting From a Network Drive?”

    1 month ago

    You have a few options. First, you can drag the file to the Trash in the Dock. Or, with the file selected, use Command+Delete as the keyboard shortcut. If you do that with a file on an external or shared drive then you get that confirmation. I would recommend sticking with that, as you don't have the safety of the Trash when using some shared drives, so I think this is also the case with your mysterious non-iCloud cloud drive.

    A quick way to do this with just the keyboard is to press Command+Delete then Command+D when you see the Cancel/Delete dialog. So it is pretty quick.

    Or, you could drag the file to the Trash, but hold the Option key down while doing it. This skips the dialog. This works for shared drives, so it may work for your mysterious non-iCloud cloud drive too.

    zero
    1 month ago

    Thanks. Command D probably the best without using a mouse.

Leave a New Comment Related to "How Do I Remove the Confirmation Dialog When Deleting From a Network Drive?"

:
:
:
0/500 (500 character limit -- please state your comment succinctly and do not try to get around this limit by posting two comments)