MacMost Q&A Forum • View All Forum QuestionsAsk a Question

Is There a Terminal Command To Bring Back “Save All”?

In Preview (Mac OS), under File, there were options for, among other things, “save,” and “save all.” If you had, for instance, resized 20-photos, you could just save them all at once. Eventually that fell by the wayside and each has to be saved individually. There is nothing in Preview preferences to select that option; is there a Terminal command to bring it back?
—–
Arnette Heidcamp

Comments: 5 Responses to “Is There a Terminal Command To Bring Back “Save All”?”

    6 months ago

    There shouldn’t be any need for Save All, as changes to images in Preview just get saved automatically. So if you open 20 images in Preview, and make changes to them, then you can just close them. The changes are already saved.

    This is part of the whole Versions feature introduced many years ago. If you go to File, Revert To, you can see old versions of the image. Using File, Save forces a version of the image to save. But so does closing the document. So you can use File, Close All (need to hold down Option to see it) or just close the Preview window or quit preview.

    Arnette Heidcamp
    6 months ago

    Thank you…however, when I close a group of photos that I’ve either re-sized or changed in some other fashion, a drop-down menu opens, asking whether I’m saving for each that I haven’t saved when I changed it. Glad to know….it’ll be a time saver. Thanks again.

    6 months ago

    Arnette: Are you using Mojave? If so, look in System Preferences, General, “Ask to keep changes when closing documents.”

    Arnette Heidcamp
    6 months ago

    Thanks again. Yes, I am using Mojave and have selected “Ask…..documents.” Thanks for your help.

    Arnette Heidcamp
    6 months ago

    Correction: I deselected (it was selected by default) and tried it. Works like a charm!

Comments Closed.