MacMost Q&A Forum • View All Forum QuestionsAsk a Question

Should I Delete a Photo From My Library After Adding It To a Shared Album?

When does it make sense to keep a photo in one’s Photos library after adding it to a shared (Family) album? Should the default be to keep a copy or delete it since one can always download it from the shared album?
—–
Michael

Comments: 3 Responses to “Should I Delete a Photo From My Library After Adding It To a Shared Album?”

    6 months ago

    I don’t think I would ever do that. If the photo is important enough that you are sharing it with people, then don’t you also want to have a permanent copy as part of your own library? I can’t see a situation where it makes sense to share a photo and then delete the copy in your library.

    Marshal
    6 months ago

    I see your point, Gary. In my case I have a shared album with a lot of videos and photos of our dog with my wife. What I would like to know is if that iCloud share duplicate or even triplicate the space on iCloud once we are running out of storage. FYI, I share my iCloud storage through family share.

    6 months ago

    Marshal: I don’t think shared photos count against your iCloud storage. See https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT202786

Comments Closed.