21 Things You Can Do With Images In Preview

A lot of common tasks you need to do with images can be done with the Mac's built-in Preview app. Learn how to crop, resize, compress, convert, caption and much more.

Comments: 19 Responses to “21 Things You Can Do With Images In Preview”

    Keith Hill
    1 month ago

    Thanks so much Gary for an in depth review of Preview. I never really knew so much could be done here, so Thanks Again.

    Keith

    Cheryl Fleming
    1 month ago

    Very helpful video. Thanks so much, Gary!

    Sheldon
    1 month ago

    Thanks bunches

    Mike Cox
    1 month ago

    Thanks Gary, for such an in depth review. I use Preview frequently, however I learned some new (for me) things it will do...THANKS!

    Lindy
    1 month ago

    Great tips on Preview.... I use it everyday!
    One of the problems I have is : when I want to select part of the image it tries to select text. And alternately when I don't want to select text.... that's all it want to select. Is there a way to avoid these issues? I really love the new features of Preview but the above issues frustrate me. Thanks for all you do for the Mac community. 👍💖

    1 month ago

    Lindy: To force pixel selection, turn on the Markup tools, and choose the rectangle selection tool.

    Lindy
    1 month ago

    Ahhhh. OK, thanks. I've just been diving right in and assuming it should read my mind by where I place my cursor. 😂🤣

    Paul Ramikie
    1 month ago

    I am so grateful, Gary, for this info since I thought we could do more with the preview software. Thanks a Lot.

    Bill Ware
    1 month ago

    The Crop Inspector is missing in Preview.app 11.0

    1 month ago

    Bill: This video is made with Preview 11.0. Make sure you have an image open (not a PDF) and made sure you have made a selection with the Markup selection tool.

    Mike
    4 weeks ago

    Thanks Gary.

    Michael
    4 weeks ago

    Thanks, Gary. Very helpful, as always. Nice idea to save some sets of photos in PDF format.

    Wm Seabrook
    4 weeks ago

    There is a problem with Preview on Sonoma I encountered. If you are dealing with a black and white or grey scale image, after manipulation, Preview will not save the image.

    The document “1492.tiff” could not be autosaved.

    Your changes will not be saved until the problem is resolved. You can also duplicate the document or discard your changes to close it.

    Jeff Pankin
    4 weeks ago

    Gary thanks so much for another informative video! I do a lot with photos and having an easy way to get the real Created date from the EXIF data is wonderful. Your explanation of the photo being contained in a file was very helpful for understanding what happens when I move photos around.

    George
    4 weeks ago

    That's wonderful Preview information. Now, is there a way to de-skew an image in Preview? I'm able to do it in Photos on my iPhone, but not in Preview.

    4 weeks ago

    George: No, not in Preview. You can do it in Photos on your Mac too.

    Dave Gustafson
    4 weeks ago

    I have a small art business and have to email photos to clients. Is there a way to add say 4 photos in one screen of a pdf?

    Thanks again. Sometimes I watch your videos 3 and 4 times because they are so thick with information.
    Great stuff

    4 weeks ago

    Dave: Lots of ways to do that. First, if you have the photos in the Photos app, then a Contact Sheet is an option in the Print dialog. That's your easiest and best option. But if the photos aren't in Photos, then you can open them all in Preview, Print, and then go to Layout and choose "Pages Per Sheet." Or, for more control, you can just create a new document in Pages, use Page Layout mode, and drag and drop the 4 images there as you like. You can arrange them, add borders, text boxes, etc.

    Suzanne Aubrey
    2 weeks ago

    Thank you!!! I was a Mac user years ago, and am finally back! So much to learn. Your videos are wonderful. Concise, easy to listen to and view. Definitely not boring.

Leave a New Comment Related to "21 Things You Can Do With Images In Preview"

:
:
:
0/500 (500 character limit -- please state your comment succinctly and do not try to get around this limit by posting two comments)