Crop, Resize and Export an Image With Preview

Learn how you can use the macOS built-in app Preview to crop, resize and export an image in another format. You can use this to shrink images to smaller files for sending or storing.

Comments: 8 Responses to “Crop, Resize and Export an Image With Preview”

    Bent
    1 year ago

    👍 👍 👍

    claudio silvaggi
    1 year ago

    Awesome, always learning from you... Great gratitude... ❤️🙏

    Patrick
    1 year ago

    Very helpful video, Gary. Your first tip about how to make the Crop tool come alive was a revelation. I can't count the number of times I've had to use a tool like Snapheal to crop an image because "crop" was greyed out in Preview. Your other tips were useful too, though I already knew about some of them.

    Connie Duke
    1 year ago

    I don't want to forever lose the quality of tons of photos on my (older) MacBook Pro, but need to significantly lessen used storage space. If I resize photos and only save that resized file, can I then at a later date, reverse that action back to a higher quality simply by undoing? My apologies if You've addressed this already. THANKS SO MUCH for all that You share. BTW: simply by knowing how to change the greyed out crop in tools is a very helpful tip. Blessings.

    1 year ago

    Connie: No, if you resize a photo file, then you can't undo it. (If you could, it wouldn't save you any space). Are these photos in your Photos app? If so, then consider using iCloud Photos Library with "Optimize" turned on to use less local storage.

    Chris in CT
    1 year ago

    I often use Photoshop Elements to add white space along one side of an image for comments without marking up the original image (aka enlarge the canvas). I have long wondered is there an easy way to do this in Preview?

    1 year ago

    Chris: No good way to do that in Preview.

    Eric
    12 months ago

    Have learnt something new :-) I wasn't aware of using the Option key to offer other export formats. Thanks Gary.

Comments Closed.