Cutting Out Part Of an Image With Preview

You can use Preview's editing tools to cut out a piece of an image. You can then paste that image in another picture. You can also copy a portion of an image, adjust the color in the rest of the image, and then paste the original segment back to make a part of your image stand out.

Comments: 14 Responses to “Cutting Out Part Of an Image With Preview”

    Frank
    5 years ago

    Do they have these tools in iPhoto? If not, do we have to remove a picture from iPhoto and back to Finder before editing it? thanks.

      5 years ago

      No, you can’t do this in iPhoto. But you can use the “Edit In External Editor” function of iPhoto to make the process easy.

        Debbie
        5 years ago

        after I copy the image in the photo and paste it in another photo. how do I shrink that photo that I copied? (when it’s in the new photo)

          5 years ago

          Shrink in what way? Do you want the item you paste in to be smaller relative to the second image? Or do you now want to export it at a smaller size?

    Mike F
    5 years ago

    Great vid Gary. I wasn’t aware preview was so versatile. it’s a time saver now for me.

      Lisa
      5 years ago

      I agree — I was always annoyed by “preview”. Thanks Gary – I really enjoy your tutorial clips!

    Phil
    5 years ago

    Thanks Gary- very helpful. I had no idea. Fun and useful

    Terry
    5 years ago

    Thanks, Gary! I like to create joke-y birthday cards with heads from pictures pasted onto other images. Never realized how handy Preview was for that. I’m also interested in knowing whether you can re-size the “pasted” image – say, to adjust a head to be in proportion to the new “body” I pasted it on.

    Keep those tips comin’ !

      5 years ago

      You would have to resize the first image before cutting out the head. But maybe at that point it would make sense to move to a more full-featured image editing program like Pixelmator or Photoshop Elements.

      Shirley Allan
      5 years ago

      If you paste the copied image into a Pages document, you can resize it by pushing or pulling the handles. You can also turn the image by command clicking a corner handle and press and drag to turn it

    Junaid
    5 years ago

    wow Gary you are for sure hidden Guru/Jewel

    Cathy Keane
    5 years ago

    when i open preview I don’t have the same tool bar and I can’t find (from left) the box with the downwards facing triangle or the wand. can you help! I am using mavericks. thanks

      5 years ago

      Perhaps you have the tool bar turned off? Check in the View menu to “Show” it and also show the Edit Toolbar if you like.

    Roger Thornton
    5 years ago

    Gary, this video is great! Thank you so much for showing how pictures can be cut out in Preview. I have watched this video several times as reference. Keep up the awesome work. All of us who watch thank you so much!

Comments Closed.