Forget Networks

Say you use a wifi hotspot once and now find that whenever you are in range of that network that your Mac automatically connects to it, even if you don’t want it to. You can make your device forget a network by going into System Preferences, Network, Advanced and then selecting that wifi network and pressing the – button to remove it from your Mac’s list. There is also an option on that screen to prevent your Mac from remembering networks in the future.

Comments: 2 Responses to “Forget Networks”

    Olaf
    10/18/12 @ 10:38 pm

    Hi Gary,
    Some time ago I erroneously removed a network from list (I can’t remember if it was on my mac or my iPhone). However, I could not reconnect my device to the network after that. I can remember that I tried a lot of things but nothing worked and I didn’t get the network back. Since it was only on a business trip for one night in a hotel it didn’t really matter but anyhow.
    Could you provide me with a solution.
    Thanks a lot Olaf

      10/19/12 @ 7:15 am

      Removing it simply removes it from networks it will automatically join. If you go to the settings screen and try to choose a new network manually, it will appear and you can join it again.

Comments Closed.