Forum Question: Restoring new iPad from backup and wiping old iPad

My wife has a 16GB Wifi iPad (1st gen). The kids use it, so it’s a bit scratched up. Today, I ordered a refurbished 16GB Wifi iPad (1st gen), same as the first one. I want to make the new one my wife’s and give her old one to the kids. I plan to use the restore-from-backup option to make the new iPad my wife’s in one simple step. I then plan to wipe the old one and start it fresh for the kids. My question is this: The second time I sync the new iPad, is iTunes going to say, “Oh, you were wiped last time we synced,” and erase everything off the new iPad thinking it’s the old one?
—–
Cameron

Comments: One Response to “Restoring new iPad from backup and wiping old iPad”

    5/1/11 @ 9:15 pm

    No, it shouldn’t do that. They both should behave just fine. It won’t try to wipe the new one because you wipe the old one.

Comments Closed.