How To Edit Images In Preview On a Mac

The Preview app can be used to view both image files and PDFs. You can also do quite a bit of editing on image files, such as color adjustments, cropping, copy and pasting selections, resizing, markup and exporting into another format.

Comments: 8 Responses to “How To Edit Images In Preview On a Mac”

    Mick
    10 months ago

    I've been using Preview for ages, but in just a few minutes I've learnt how to do so much more with the mark up tools in this application. As always, Thank You

    Douglas Brace
    10 months ago

    I have two questions, Gary:

    (1) does Preview have a pixelation figure in it for redacting something from an image?

    (2) does Preview retain elements (e.g. shapes and text) as layers that are added to it for PNG files?

    10 months ago

    Well, for an image you would just draw a box over the area and save it out as a new image. For PDFs there is a proper "redact" tool. Preview doesn't do layers.

    Douglas Brace
    10 months ago

    Yes, Gary, it is possible to just draw a box over something and make sure that it has some sort of fill to it but the effect of pixelation can look a little bit better. I am referring to functionality that is possible in the app "Skitch". It is the main reason I use it because the pixelation feature is so easy. Thanks for the info about "Preview" not supporting layers at all. It would be nice if it did, especially PNGs.

    10 months ago

    Douglas: There is no way to blur or pixelate a selection in Preview. Can be done in most other image editing apps though.

    Jim Terrinoni
    9 months ago

    Gary, as always, even though I’ve been using Preview for a LONG time you provide a little detail that tweaks my process, making things more efficient. Before printing a jpeg file I always review the horizontal bar graph (Tools > Adjust Color) to verify the lows (especially) are where I want them.

    Mo
    3 months ago

    how can I edit psd files on Mac?

    3 months ago

    Mo: A PSD file is a Photoshop Document. So Photoshop or Photoshop Elements is the best way. But other apps like Pixelmator Pro will open it, though the features will vary.

Leave a New Comment Related to "How To Edit Images In Preview On a Mac"

:
:
:
0/500 (500 character limit -- please state your comment succinctly and do not try to get around this limit by posting two comments)