The Mac Preview PDF Markup Tools

Take a look at all fo the markup tools you can use in Mac Preview to annotate PDF documents, including the new redaction tool. You can use these to edit documents, leave notes for yourself, or fill in PDF forms without set form fields.

Comments: 9 Responses to “The Mac Preview PDF Markup Tools”

    Larry Hess
    2 months ago

    I assume this only applies to OS Big Sur and not Catalina.
    Tks,
    Larry

    2 months ago

    Larry: Most (all?) of these things are in Catalina. Just look and see.

    Bruce
    2 months ago

    Sometimes I want to send a marked-up PDF but NOT allow the recipient to change what I’ve done. I use PRINT->save as PDF. The original PDF stays editable and the “save as PDF” version from the print dialog is permanent.

    Eric
    2 months ago

    In a similar fashion to using the Shift key to make a “circular” annotation be an actual circle (rather than an oval), you can use the Shift key to constrain line annotations to be at 45 degree angles (0, 45, 90, 135, 180, 225, 270, 360).

    Robert Burnett
    1 month ago

    Gary, to help me further, is there a way that when a bookmarked is made that a title/reference can be created. With notes I can see what it refers to, but it would be very helpful if when searching a document I could just look down the bookmarks and pick out the one I want to refer to. In presentation mode it would be more professional when a question is asked that I can open and then jump directly to the relevant section. Thanking you. RB.

    1 month ago

    Robert: Sorry, I don’t know of any way to change how the bookmarks look.

    Sherry
    1 month ago

    Great video! Not quite as fast as some of your others which can be hard to keep up with. :)

    Thomas
    1 month ago

    Hi Gary, is there an option to change the way 2-pages layout is applied? I regularly work with tables that span over 2 pages that I’d like to align side by side. But Preview always starts with a single title page, followed by 2 pages and this way the header column sometimes doesn’t align with the content. Since PDFs are write protected, I can’t just add a blank page to change the lineup. Thanks

    1 month ago

    Thomas: No, it is always arrange like a book.

Leave a New Comment Related to "The Mac Preview PDF Markup Tools"

:
:
:
0/500 (500 character limit -- please state your comment succinctly and do not try to get around this limit by posting two comments)