The Mac Preview PDF Markup Tools

Take a look at all fo the markup tools you can use in Mac Preview to annotate PDF documents, including the new redaction tool. You can use these to edit documents, leave notes for yourself, or fill in PDF forms without set form fields.

Comments: 14 Responses to “The Mac Preview PDF Markup Tools”

    Larry Hess
    2 years ago

    I assume this only applies to OS Big Sur and not Catalina.
    Tks,
    Larry

    2 years ago

    Larry: Most (all?) of these things are in Catalina. Just look and see.

    Bruce
    2 years ago

    Sometimes I want to send a marked-up PDF but NOT allow the recipient to change what I've done. I use PRINT->save as PDF. The original PDF stays editable and the "save as PDF" version from the print dialog is permanent.

    Eric
    2 years ago

    In a similar fashion to using the Shift key to make a "circular" annotation be an actual circle (rather than an oval), you can use the Shift key to constrain line annotations to be at 45 degree angles (0, 45, 90, 135, 180, 225, 270, 360).

    Robert Burnett
    2 years ago

    Gary, to help me further, is there a way that when a bookmarked is made that a title/reference can be created. With notes I can see what it refers to, but it would be very helpful if when searching a document I could just look down the bookmarks and pick out the one I want to refer to. In presentation mode it would be more professional when a question is asked that I can open and then jump directly to the relevant section. Thanking you. RB.

    2 years ago

    Robert: Sorry, I don't know of any way to change how the bookmarks look.

    Sherry
    2 years ago

    Great video! Not quite as fast as some of your others which can be hard to keep up with. :)

    Thomas
    2 years ago

    Hi Gary, is there an option to change the way 2-pages layout is applied? I regularly work with tables that span over 2 pages that I’d like to align side by side. But Preview always starts with a single title page, followed by 2 pages and this way the header column sometimes doesn’t align with the content. Since PDFs are write protected, I can’t just add a blank page to change the lineup. Thanks

    2 years ago

    Thomas: No, it is always arrange like a book.

    Kathy
    10 months ago

    Hi Gary, the redact tool worked fine today while using preview on a pdf. Now out of the blue I am unable to select anything to redact, using the same method. The text is selected in blue (not black), but nothing is redacted. I quit preview, restarted the computer and still no luck. Any ideas? Plus when I try to use colored highlight for the text I get a dialogue saying 'without the owner password you don't have permission...' The pdf was scanned & saved using preview so I'm not sure why. Thx

    10 months ago

    Kathy: Perhaps an issue with that one PDF? Maybe because the document is a scanned one, not one created by software so the text is an image, not actual text.

    Kathy
    10 months ago

    Thanks Gary, I think you're right. I'm having luck with others so it must just be that one. :)

    Lois Sampson
    9 months ago

    I use Preview to redact documents. Worked fine until a couple days ago. After redacting a document, I saved it and closed the document. When I opened this document later, the document was littered with sporadic underlining and vertical black stips (which don't appear to have the same faint cross-hatch mark of a redaction). I've tried all kinds of things, including using a fresh unredacted version, problem remains. How can I get stop these crazy marks littering a document?

    9 months ago

    Lois: Have you tried a restart?

Comments Closed.