MacMost Now 793: Ignore Ownership On External Drives

If you use an external drive to share music, photos or other files, then you should know about the "Ignore ownership on this volume" option. This allows you to have multiple users on the same Mac, or multiple users across several Macs to have the same access to files and folders regardless of which user put them there. It can greatly simplify sharing the data on an external drive.

Comments: 11 Responses to “MacMost Now 793: Ignore Ownership On External Drives”

    Toby Zen
    7 years ago

    Hi Gary, I have superduper and use it to clone my drive to an external drive. This drive is bootable. Does this mean that I may not ignore ownership on external drive for this drive because of my need to boot from it sometimes?
    Thanks,
    Toby

      7 years ago

      It shouldn’t matter unless you actually try to boot from the drive. Then I think it just automatically turns off “ignore ownership.”
      But why would you want to turn off ownership of a cloned backup?

    Steve Maynard
    7 years ago

    Is an “Ipod” equivalent to an external HDD. Does it have similar controls to unlock it.

    Here’s the reason for my question: My wife was given an iPod by her son. He’d loaded music on it. But, that “married” the iPod to his computer. So she can’t load music onto it…and, if she “marries” it to hers, she’s told that she’ll lose the music her son loaded for her. How do we save the music her son loaded but allow her to load music for her machine?

      7 years ago

      No, it is different. You can’t “save” the music from the iPod. You need to get it from its source (from her son’s computer).

        Steve Maynard
        7 years ago

        So, I guess the drill will be to have her son download the music to my wife’s external HDD and then save it anew to the iPod once it is “married” to my wife’s Mac (including her external HDD). Do you have videos that we can watch on how to “marry” (forgive my lack of technical jargon) to her computer?

        Thanks, for all you do Gary….I really appreciate your work!

          7 years ago

          There’s nothing to it. You just connect and then iTunes, and then choose to sync. It will warn you that you are about to erase everything on it and replace.
          But if the ownership of this iPod has been transferred, you may want to consider using iTunes to do a “restore” so it starts off like it came from the factory.

    Don Myers
    7 years ago

    Great advice and video. I’m new to the MAC world and the video was a big help in moving my time machine backup set to a larger drive.

    Don

    Donna
    6 years ago

    Is there any way to make the change to “ignore ownership” permanent? Every time I restart my computer I have to go through these steps again. I usually forget. This wouldn’t be a huge problem (just an inconvenience) except that iTunes purchases won’t download and with the latest version of iTunes (11) the files vanish and I have to have them reset by Apple support.

      6 years ago

      Sounds like something is wrong. First, I haven’t noticed that this setting changes when you restart. Of course I rarely restart (http://macmost.com/shut-down-or-sleep.html). But it shouldn’t change the setting regardless. I’ve noticed that SuperDuper changes it — a bug in that app. Not sure what else would cause it to reset.

    Kris
    6 years ago

    I followed the video but the volume would not give me any ignore ownership option when I unlocked it. It is the drive I was using for Time machine and I would like to move the backups to another larger external but it is saying that ownership is not enabled on the volume. I am sure I am missing the flick of an option somewhere can you give me any suggestions of what to try?

    Thanks

      6 years ago

      Hard to say without seeing it. But if you are trying to move the Time Machine backups to another drive, what I would do is to first start the TM backups on the new drive. Let it complete the new backup. Then when the old TM drive becomes redundant, erase it and start fresh. I don’t see the use for “Ignore Ownership” in this case.

Comments Closed.