MacMost Now 516: Syncing Files Between Macs With iDisk Sync

If you are a MobileMe user you can turn on iDisk Sync to create a way to share files between your Macs and your iDisk storage. Your iDisk is then treated like a normal local drive and automatically syncs with the server. Other Macs using iDisk Sync with your account will automatically stay in sync as well.

Comments: 9 Responses to “MacMost Now 516: Syncing Files Between Macs With iDisk Sync”

    Phil
    9 years ago

    What if you have a MAC and a Windows computer? Is there any way o keep the files synched between them like you did with the two MACs using iDisk?

      9 years ago

      That gets tougher. I would just use a cloud service and store the files in the cloud. DropBox might be a good option there.

        Phil
        9 years ago

        Thanks. That’s what I thought, which is a shame, because I subscribe to MobileMe and it would be great if it worked like DropBox. Apple surely does some lame stuff at times…

    Craig
    9 years ago

    So instead of me saving to my Documents Folder, i can save to idisk Documents Folder. But you said i would still have a copy on my local mac, is that correct?

    I did not want to do this originally because i was under the belief that if i stored to idisk, i would have to be online, and then i run the risk of losing any files stored on the server in some crazy mishap.

      9 years ago

      That’s the point of iDisk Sync. You don’t have to be online. A local copy of each file is stored on your drive so you can access it when offline. Then it will sync back to the server the next time you are online. Watch the video again.

    Keith
    9 years ago

    When using iDisk to sync between 2 or 3 Macs (I have three) is there an order to use in turning sync on? Should there be a time lapse between turning each Mac’s sync on? Each Mac will take some time to get into sync with the local copy and the cloud copy so I wonder if turning sync on with too little time delay will cause conflicts.

      9 years ago

      It shouldn’t matter. Turning it on the first time just means that a local copy of whatever is already up on your iDisk will be downloaded to your Mac. So turning on all three at the same time will just mean that all three will download the files at the same time.

Comments Closed.