Using the Preview Loupe Tool

You can add a magnifying loupe to an image or PDF in Preview. These loupes can help you point out something in an image or enhance the effect of an image that you plan to share. You can also use loupes to annotate images and PDFs during collaborations.

Comments: 12 Responses to “Using the Preview Loupe Tool”

    Terry Haddow
    3 years ago

    Very interesting. I didn’t even know that was there. I am often amazed with what ” Preview” has contained in it. Thanks for sharing.

    Peter
    3 years ago

    Damn! You’re great at showing me/everyone so many Apple features, that I never knew about. Thank you so very much, Gary, for all your time & effort to find & share them with us! I wish there was a web site, or sites, that shows some of the unique, esoteric & yet extremely useful Apple features.

    Peter Melia
    3 years ago

    “Loup” is greyed out in my iMac (in Annotate).

    3 years ago

    Peter: Try it on another document. Perhaps there is something about the document you are viewing that prevents it (too small, wrong format, etc). Just try it on a photo jpg file to see.

    Joanne Harris
    3 years ago

    Like Peter (above), “Mark Up’ is greyed out. Is it a later addition to Preview? I’m running 10.9.5 O.S.

    3 years ago

    Joanne: Should work. What type of document? Try it with a standard jpg photo.

    Bob
    3 years ago

    Thanks.
    The loupe tool works as shown in your video.
    I also discovered the tool next to it for emphasizing
    a section while darkening the rest of an image.

    Lindy
    3 years ago

    Thanks Gary, this is great! I tried the loop tool in jpg, pdf, png and tiff.
    Saaaay, do you know how to keep the Annotate toolbar open as a default. I have to open it every single time I use Preview and I’d love it if I could find a way to have it always there.
    You are doing a fabluous service for the Apple community…thanks so much.

    3 years ago

    Lindy: No, you have to press the button each time.

    Kerrie Redgate
    3 years ago

    Thank you so much, Gary! Once again, you’ve shown me something that I’d had no idea existed on my Macbook! Cheers!!

    Talster
    3 years ago

    Handy tip that Gary, never realised it was possible to save magnified areas in an image. No doubt I’ll find it useful at some point as I make guides myself from time to time.

    Malc
    3 years ago

    Another top tip Gary. As was Bob’s response about changing the shading of an area. Keep them coming.
    M>

Comments Closed.