Forum Question: using my media after migration assistant

I just finished using the migration assistant from my wife’s macbook to my new imac. I can see that all the data made it over because of the size of the hard drive and the new user has been added in the finder under Mac HD/Users. Everything but the burn folder, public, and sites folder have a red minus on them and when i attempt to open them i get this message “The folder “Music” can’t be opened because you don’t have permission to see its contents.” How do I get permission to use my photos and music and documents?

— Rice Giffin

Comments: 5 Responses to “using my media after migration assistant”

    5/14/10 @ 7:48 am

    My first guess is that you moved your wife’s user data over to the iMac as a new user. But you are still logged in as the other user on your iMac. You need to log out and log back in under the your wife’s account to access the files in that account.

    katherine
    8/8/10 @ 11:40 pm

    if I migrate a user account that I intend to be the main account, is it ok to then delete the first user? is there anything there that I will need? my macbook was set up for me now I am adding all of my stuff.

      8/9/10 @ 7:05 am

      As long as you never created anything with or otherwise used the first account, then there is no reason not to delete it. Make sure you new user account is an admin first, of course. It is fairly common to create a new admin account and delete the one that came on the machine.

    Nick Moye
    5/23/11 @ 10:51 am

    Hello Gary:
    Thank you for doing all the video’s on Mac. I’m a new user and have enjoyed watching them. My question is, can you use Migration to just move a single program and it’s files to another say, new IMac and then run that program?
    Thanks,
    Nick

      5/23/11 @ 10:57 am

      I wouldn’t try to use Migration Assistant for that. I would install the program from the original disks or installer. Then I’d transfer the files you want.

Comments Closed.