Adding Captions and Watermarks to Photos With Preview

If you want to add some text to a photo, you can do it with the Preview app that comes with your Mac. You can add some large text to create a funny or inspirational image to post to social media. Or, you can add a watermark to protect your images before uploading them to the web.

Comments: 14 Responses to “Adding Captions and Watermarks to Photos With Preview”

    Glen Fisher
    4 years ago

    I am adding text to pictures already in iPhotos. When I save after adding text it is not saving back to iPhoto. Do I have to do that manually and if I do I have two of the same picture. Thanks. great lesson.

      4 years ago

      Not sure what you mean. How are you adding text in iPhoto?

    Jimmy
    4 years ago

    Thanks for this information. Another “I didn’t know” feature of Apple apps

    RB
    4 years ago

    Is there a way to place a markup on multiple photos in the same place. Maybe a copy/paste function?

    I would use this to place a title, location and date on numerous photos of participants in a sporting event.

    Tim Ricke
    4 years ago

    This video is a real help when I add personal quotes to photos instead of using pages. It’s much faster. Thanks Gary!

    fuhry
    4 years ago

    I wanted to name lead in pictures for a jpg folder..I wanted to keep it a simple jpg so it is around for the next generation. Thanks bunches.

    Janet
    4 years ago

    Gary as usual Great Video. You never fail to make your video’s so easy to comprehend. This watermark feature I sincerely appreciate!

    Barb
    4 years ago

    Where exactly do you find the watermark?

      4 years ago

      Not sure I understand your question. You can place the text anywhere you want on the phone Mage, as I show in the video.

    Douglas Mattingly
    4 years ago

    I added a title to a photo and moved it to the lower left corner. When I reopened the photo in Preview, the original red color was gone, replaced with gray. Also, when I closed Preview and went back to Photo and opened the original from there, the title wasn’t there at all. I am doing something wrong?

      4 years ago

      Not sure what happened with your color. I’d experiment and play around with it. To save to Photos, you’d need to export it as a file, then drag and drop that file back into Photos. You aren’t editing the Photo in your Photos library, you are editing a copy.

    Jim
    4 years ago

    Can I use preview to make a watermark stationary? Or add to a PDF of a contract I do not want reused but faint enough were can be read?

      4 years ago

      Stationary watermarks are a different thing altogether. Usually they are part of the paper, not the printing. As for documents, it sounds like you want something different, like copy protection, not graphic marks on the document.

Comments Closed.