Blocking iPhone Phone Calls and Messages

You can easily block a phone number or Apple ID from calling your iPhone or sending you messages. Once you block a number, you can review the list and unblock any that may have been mistakes.

Comments: 9 Responses to “Blocking iPhone Phone Calls and Messages”

    Reinhold Linnartz
    2 years ago

    Very good, this can be done!
    Thank you very much!

    Reinhold

    Jummy
    2 years ago

    Very helpful video. Does the blocked caller no they have been blocked ?

    2 years ago

    Jummy: I’ve never tried it, but I believe that Messages are just never “delivered” so they don’t know — your phone could be off, or they could be sending to an ID that doesn’t exist. For calls, your phone never rings and it just goes to voicemail. I think the voicemails are in a separate category for blocked callers.

    Robin Oram
    2 years ago

    Yes but … you still can’t block “no caller ID” calls; infuriating! (Or is there a way?)

    Peggy
    2 years ago

    Thank you so much! Had no idea this was possible.

    2 years ago

    Robin: Try it next time and see what happens. I don’t see any calls on my phone with no caller ID. I have seen spammers use a name like “Unknown” or “No ID” as their actual name to try to trick you into thinking there is no phone number coming though. So maybe that is what you are seeing? Another option is to contact your phone service provider and see if they have a way to block those on their end.

    Barry Chertov
    2 years ago

    I’m also looking for a way to block No Caller ID. The best I’ve come up with is to leave Do Not Disturb on and then set Allow Calls From to all your contacts. But this also blocks calls from anybody (unblocked) not in your contact list. Any better ideas? Sure seems like there should be a way!

    Steve P
    2 years ago

    I wish the list of calls would show an indicator (red dot, maybe?) of the ones I’ve blocked. It’s also unclear to me whether deleting the blocked phone # from the list means it’s no longer blocked or are blocked #’s somehow “saved” in a separate list?

    2 years ago

    Steve: Deleting the blocked number from the list, like I show later in the video, means it is no longer blocked.

Comments Closed.