Storing Local Documents When Using iCloud Drive

If you are using iCloud Drive Documents & Desktop, then all of the files you put in those folders are uploaded to iCloud. If you have projects that you would like to only be stored locally, you can create your own folders in your Home folder for these projects. It is a good idea to create one Local Documents folder and arrange those files in there. This can come in handy for those that use large files where uploading to iCloud for those files is an issue.

Comments: 6 Responses to “Storing Local Documents When Using iCloud Drive”

    George Rubin
    2 years ago

    Just what I need to do with my major video projects.

    Bruce Bailey
    2 years ago

    As one who has been using computers since 1980, I find some irony that there is a need to train people how to use local storage. Oh for the days when speed was not limited by internet?

    Bob Gerard
    2 years ago

    If on your Mac you go to Sys Prefs/iCloud you can click on the box next to, for example, Mail.

    If on your Mac you now go to Sys Prefs/iCloud/iCloud Drive/Options, you once again find Mail with a box you may either check or not.

    Right now, the box for Mail is checked in iCloud but not in iCloud Drive and Mail is syncing nicely among my two Mac computers, an iPhone, and an iPad.

    What does checking the box for Mail in iCloud Drive actually accomplish?

    It’s stumped me!

    2 years ago

    Bob: SP/iCloud Mail refers to your @icloud.com email address. SP/iCloud/iCloud Drive/Mail refers to the Mail “app” — its settings, preferences, etc.

    Bill braun
    2 years ago

    I have An iMac at home, another at my office and a MacBook Pro. What will happen if I put the desktop and document from each Mac on iCloud? Will they all appear as different desktops/documents or will they all merge together to be one big mess. I bought 200 gig of iCloud storage so there is plenty of room.

    2 years ago

    All of the files from each Desktop and each Documents folder will merge so all files are there. Isn’t that what you want? Would you rather files be deleted? No, of course not. If you like, you can move and organize all files to one Desktop and one Document folder on one Mac before you do this (the other Mac being empty). Get organized. Then turn it on so those folders are seen in both places. But you could also just turn it on and then get organized.

Comments Closed.