How To Split and Merge PDF Documents In Preview

You can copy pages in a PDF document in Preview and paste them to get a new document with only the pages you want. You can split a PDF into two or more smaller documents. You can also merge documents by dragging pages from one document into another.

Comments: 10 Responses to “How To Split and Merge PDF Documents In Preview”

    Marj Green
    2 months ago

    Acrobat has an option to Reduce File Size which reduces the size of the pdf file without altering the measurements of each page. Is there a way to do this in Preview?

    2 months ago

    Marj: Yes. You can go to File, Export in Preview, then at the bottom before you save choose Reduce File Size under Quartz Filter. See https://macmost.com/advanced-print-as-pdf.html

    Kurt Steinbock
    2 months ago

    Gary, using your four-page brochure example, is it possible to paste pages 2 and 3 together horizontally so that it looks like a two-page interior spread?

    2 months ago

    Kurt: You can view any PDF like that. Just go to View, Two Pages in the Preview menu.

    Rocky
    2 months ago

    Hey Gary,
    I’m surprised. you didn’t mention pressing command+shift+i to INSERT documents into the current one. I use that all the time. Once selected it gives you the option of where to place the new docs (before or after the current selected page).

    Mike Back
    2 months ago

    I’m looking for a way to merge 2, 8.5×11 PDFs into 1, 11×17 pdf?

    Thank You.

    2 months ago

    Mike: That’s a whole different issue. You are talking about grabbing elements of PDFs and placing them in different documents in a new layout. The best way is to go back to whatever app you used to develop the content in the first place.

    Dan
    2 months ago

    Thank you for this video. I used to use an online service to do this on my old macbook since that preview version (at least I don’t think) allowed this. In any event, I didn’t use Preview to read pdf docs.

    Lali Raj
    2 months ago

    Thank you for sharing the video. Very useful

    Ertugrul
    2 months ago

    Selecting multiple images (not pdf) and export as pdf, ‘only’ single file is being saved as pdf. It is contrary to “select multiple images” and “export as pdf”. Why? I didn’t understand.

    If multiple images are required to be merged in one pdf file, first, all images should be converted into pdf file, next merge them. This requires heavy work if you have numerous images.

    Selecting multiple images and saving by file > print > Save as Pdf is working but its view is not same as other pdf view.

Leave a New Comment Related to "How To Split and Merge PDF Documents In Preview"

:
:
:
0/500 (500 character limit -- please state your comment succinctly and do not try to get around this limit by posting two comments)