MacMost Now 536: Annotating Pictures with Pages and Preview

While you can't add text or shapes to a photo in iPhoto, you can do it using either Pages or Preview. Pages allows you to add a variety of shapes and even other photos. Preview allows text and simple shapes.

Comments: 11 Responses to “MacMost Now 536: Annotating Pictures with Pages and Preview”

    Peter Emery
    8 years ago

    Most informative, Gary, thank you. Is it possible to use Keynote in a similar manner to Pages to annotate slideshows or presentations exported as movies?

    Steve
    8 years ago

    Gary,

    Since I have discovered your site, I have found your video tutorials to be very clear and helpful. You have a good way of explaining things, and keep a good balance as to length of the video. I have told others about your web site. Thanks for your work!

    Andrew Murr
    8 years ago

    I am having problems with the iWork process. Generally, When originally installed the application via I believe the Installation disc, or the Application disc, when I first got my Mac. It appeared to be a Thirty day trial edition. My Thirty day trial period expired in February this year. So I had to save up to buy the iWork Installation DVD. I bought one from an Apple store yesterday. Installed it on my iMac. When I clicked on any of the related icons in the dock, I get a window saying that I have to buy a Serial Number. It cost me a fortune for the iWork installation disc (which I discovered was a trial edition) Why wasn’t there a serial Number with the package, was it because it was a trial version

    Andrew Murr

    Sheffield, UK

      8 years ago

      Try installing again from the discs. Look in your applications folder and see if you now have two copies of Pages (one would be the trial, and one would be the full version you installed) and run the right one and delete the other. If that still isn’t working, simply call Apple or visit the store again to have them help. You’ll get it sorted out.

    Andrew Murr
    8 years ago

    I have had problems understanding instructions from an Apple Technician, by phone. because he was either Asian, Pakistani or what. If these people want to be employed by Apple, or Sky,etc. they should go to language school first. to speak our english. The two discs? you mean the Installation discs that came with the iMac?

      8 years ago

      I mean the iWork disc. The one you just purchased.

    Richard24
    8 years ago

    Does Pages do labels?

      8 years ago

      Sure. You can create layouts to fit the labels that you buy.

    Robin
    6 years ago

    Gary,
    Thank you! After watching this tutorial (& others, too), I am feeling less “technologically-challenged” by the day. You explain things very well and are helping me to truly get the most out of my Mac!

Comments Closed.